Skip to content

The bare bones character rig.

September 28, 2007

Charles

Heres a list of what I’ve found should be in a rig. It’s from studying generalized rigs and demos, Building them, and most of all asking the animators I work with every day.

  • Main torso control with keyable pivot
  • Independant pelvis control
  • Independant chest control
  • Head control with keyable rotation space (local/world) and keyable pivot.
  • FK/IK  arms with keyable rotation space (local/world) in FK mode.
  • FK/IK legs with keyable rotation space (local/world) in FK mode and keyable foot pivot in IK mode – additional support for quick pivot places (gui based).

On top of this, you could add stretching, breakable limbs, pinnable arms legs etc – but this is the bare bones rig.

Edit: The keyable head space pivot is an idea inspired by  Jason Schleifer’s, Animator friendly rigging. Go check out his site here. And Bernard’s utterly stunning softimage reel over here. – sorry if there was any confusing, if people thought it was my idea.

8 Comments

Post a comment
  1. September 29, 2007

    Sounds nice but how do you intend to make what you call “keyable pivot”? As far as I remember you can’t key the pivots in max and you have to activate “don’t affect children”. Is it just a dream idea or is it real?

  2. October 1, 2007

    Aterokoid – it can be done. You have to study transform space matrices, inverse spaces etc.

  3. October 1, 2007

    hey charles! just found your blog… some great ideas here!I love that you’re talking about a bare-bones rig… it’s important to know what’s really necessary, what’s “nice to have”, and what’s just excessive.

    oh! by the way, my last name is spelled Schleifer pronounced shh-life-er . 🙂

    cheers!

  4. October 1, 2007

    Ack! Sorry Jason my bad :(, i fixed the typo 🙂

  5. October 2, 2007

    no worries! happens all the time..)

  6. simon says #
    October 3, 2007

    u fuck, how dare u delete my messages. next time i may as well expose ur hidden personality to cgtalk.

    and how interesting for jason to post right after me. how did he even find u. u just created a fake user to prove me wrong, as if i was an idiot. fuck that!

  7. October 3, 2007

    “u just created a fake user to prove me wrong, as if i was an idiot. fuck that!”

    Why would i need to? I Please go http://jonhandhisdog.com/ to ask him yourself. I clarified with him yesterday to make sure we were good – just wanted for people to know i was inspired by his work, not claiming it as my own.

    Please stop swearing on my blog. You havent given me a real email to contact you so its pretty pointless berating me like this – if you want to contact me just leave a comment with a real email.

    cheers,

  8. October 3, 2007

    simon,

    wow.. you’re an angry guy ain’t ya!

    I found charle’s blog because his blog was mentioned as a great place to read about various rigging ideas. Even though I spend most (i.e. all) of my time animating now, I’m still interested in rigging (obviously.. otherwise why would I make those dvds?). So I came by to check out the blog, found it impressive, and then subscribed to it.

    Then, lo and behold a few days after I subscribe, I see my name mentioned (although spelled “creatively” :), so I figure it would be a good time to say “hey, nice work!”.

    Most people who come up with ideas, blog about them, and create dvds are open to others taking their ideas and expanding upon them. I know many of my ideas are taken from years of experience talking to others, working with them, and combining ideas to come up with more. Most of what I talk about in my dvds isn’t proprietary.. it’s all stuff that people chat about all the time. So if someone who is obviously spending a lot of time thinking up ideas, working with rigging, developing new ideas suddenly mentions something that I’ve been thinking about/working through/etc.. I’m not going to go “oh my god, he STOLE IT FROM ME!! BASTARD!!”. I’m going to think .. “hey! we’re on the same page! cool!”

    so.. in other words simon… settle down.

Leave a Reply

